“The trouble with politicians is that they never listen.”

25 October, 2007

Nick Palmer recalls on Politicalbetting meeting this most perceptive of voters 

“Hello, I’m your MP Nick Palmer, called to see if you had any special concerns?” [thinks: I’ll get to the voting question later]
[politely] “The trouble with politicians is that they never listen.”
“Well, I’m on your doorstep to listen. What would you like me to hear?”
[puzzled look] “The trouble with politicians is that they never listen.”
[enunciating verrrry slowly] “I. am. on. your. doorstep. to. listen. What would you like to tell me?”
[blank look] “What?”

Sigh.

Leave a Reply

